Mahy wins “Little Nobel”

Margaret Mahy has won the world’s premier prize for children’s writing, the Hans Christian Andersen Award. Dubbed the “Little Nobel”, it has been given biennially since 1956 to an author who has made a lasting contribution to international children’s literature. She will travel to Beijing in September to accept the award.

In the last two years, Margaret Mahy – who began her publishing career in 1961 with a story in the School Journal – has received the Prime Minister’s Award for Fiction, a second honorary doctorate, and the Phoenix Award from Canada’s Children’s Literature Association. She became an official New Zealand Arts Icon in 2005 and has two books shortlisted in this year’s New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Comment
Search the archive
Search by category