“Living icons” named

Writers Janet Frame, Maurice Gee and Hone Tuwhare were among the first 10 artists to be named as “living icons” by the Arts Foundation of New Zealand. Each received a pin, which would always be theirs, and a medallion, which on their death would be handed on to another icon artist.

The new icon artists were chosen by a panel that included Roger Hall, Elizabeth Knox and Briar Grace-Smith. The scheme, designed to acknowledge the mana of those who are leaders in their field, will see new artist icons named every two years, until there is a living circle of 25 at any time.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Comment
Search the archive
Search by category